anne perryAt Christensen & Hymas, we want to extend our congratulations to Anne Perry, who was named top rider of 2013 by Cycling Utah. Every year, Cycling Utah evaluates the different clubs, riders, and events from the past year and awards the top riders and clubs as a way to honor their achievements and encourage all of Utah’s riders to push the limits.

Cycling Utah said:

Anne Perry (DNA Cycling p/b Plan 7) had an incredible season. She had numerous local and regional wins including the Bikes for Kids Stage Race, Porcupine Hill Climb, East Canyon Road Race, and the omnium at the prestigious Iron Horse Classic in Colorado. She then won the Masters National Road Race in the 40-44 category. This led to an invite to Masters Worlds, where she raced to perfection, winning the World Masters Road Race Championship in the 40-44 category (see profile elsewhere in this issue). Anne Perry is the Cycling Utah Overall Rider of the Year.

We congratulate Anne and we wish her luck in the 2014 season.

The Other Top Awards

Cycling Utah also recognized several other riders for their accomplishments in 2013. The following awards were given.

  • Alex Grant: Male Mountain Bike Racer of the Year and Male Cyclocross Racer of the Year
  • Haley Batten: Female Mountain Bike Racer of the Year
  • Logan Binggeli: Male Downhill Racer of the Year.
  • Amanda Batty: Female Downhill Racer of the Year.
  • Evelyn Dong: Female Cyclocross Racer of the Year
  • Katie Clouse: Female Road Racer of the Year.
  • Michael Wilcox: Male Road Racer of the Year.
  • The Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah: Event of the Year
  • Canyon Bicycles: Road Racing Team of the Year
  • Bonneville Cycling: Touring Club of the Year.
  • Mountain Bike Team of the Year
  • The Southern Utah Bicycle Alliance: Bike Advocate of the Year.

Other Utah Riders with Top Results Across the Country

As written by Cycling Utah:

Margaret Douglass (Bountiful Mazda) won the National Criterium Championship in her age group. Evan Clouse (Cole Sport) was second in the Junior National Cyclocross Championship and had wins throughout the region. Katie Clouse won the Junior National Cyclocross Championship and was second in the Junior Cross Country National Championships. Zan Treasure (Bountiful Mazda) won the Marathon Mountain Bike National Championships in his age group and added a 2nd in the Tandem National Championship road race and third in the National Championship Road Race in the 55-59 to his resume. Dina Hannah won the Trona 353 Race in California. Dwight Hibdon won the Marathon Mountain Bike National Championship in the 60-64 age group. Tanner Putt (Bontrager Cycling Team) won the U-23 National Road Race Championship. TJ Eisenhart (BMC) won the Best Young Rider Jersey at the Cascade Classic. Tiffany Pezzulo (Primal Pro Women) finished fifth overall in the prestigious USA Crits Series. Galen Carter won mountain bike races four disciplines this year – cross country, pump track, super-D, and downhill, and raced the Mt. Saint Anne World Cup in the downhill. There were many series champions throughout the state, many of whom are listed in the results section of this issue. They all deserve a tip of the hat. As do you, our loyal readers. You help make the cycling community in Utah the best in the country! Thanks again for another great season. Look for the next issue of Cycling Utah in March 2014. Have a great winter and see you on the bike!

At Christensen & Hymas, we encourage all riders, professional, amateur, competitive, or joy rider, to give your all to the sport you love. Work hard, have fun, and let everyone know that Utah is a state that supports its riders.

Original article by Dave Iltis and picture at